Establishing Zion
Eugene E. Campbell

*Move the cursor over on to the photos to read captions.


Brigham Young (1801-77), second president of the LDS church, oversaw the colonization of some 250 settlements throughout the American West during the mid-nineteenth century.

Heber C. Kimball (1801-68)was first counselor to Brigham Young in the LDS first presidency from 1848 until his death.

Jedediah M. Grant (1816-56), sustained as second counselor to Brigham Young in 1854, was a fiery orator whose calls to repentance inaugurated the Mormon Reformation.

Daniel H. Wells (1814-91) served as commander of the Utah territorial militia until his appointment in 1857 as successor to Jedediah M. Grant in the LDS first presidency.

George A. Smith (1817-75) was territorial legislator, official LDS church historian, and successor to Heber C. Kimball in 1868 as first counselor to Brigham Young.

Orson Hyde (1805-78), president of the LDS quorum of twelve apostles, helped to colonize both northern and southern Utah.

Parley P. Pratt (1807-57), an LDS apostle and territorial colonizer and legislator, was killed in Arkansas by the husband of one of his plural wives.

Orson Pratt (1811-81), an LDS apostle, was an intellectual apologist and pamphleteer who publicly disagreed with Brigham Young on doctrinal subjects.

John Taylor (1808-87), third president of the LDS church, was an articulate defender of Mormon doctrine.

Wilford Woodruff (1807-98), fourth president of the LDS church, kept voluminous diaries chronicling many important events in early Utah history.

Amasa Lyman (1813-77), an LDS apostle, helped to direct the San Bernardino and gold missions, and later affiliated with the Godbeite movement, for which he was excommunicated.

Ezra T. Benson (1811-69), an LDS apostle, presided over church settlements in Cache Valley until his death.

Charles C. Rich (1809-83), an LDS apostle, directed the San Bernardino and gold missions and later helped to settle the Bear Lake Valley region in northern Utah.

Erastus Snow (1818-88), an LDS apostle, helped to colonize the churchxs southern settlements in Utahxs Dixie.

John Smith (1781-1854), an uncle of Mormon church founder Joseph Smith, was presiding LDS patriarch and the first president of the Salt Lake Stake.

The earliest known photograph of the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles (ca. 1868). They are, front row, left to right: George A. Smith, Brigham Young, and Daniel H. Wells; back row, left to right: Orson Hyde, Orson Pratt, John Taylor, Wilford Woodruff, Ezra T. Benson, Charles C. Rich, Lorenzo Snow, Erastus Snow, Franklin D. Richards, George Q. Cannon, Brigham Young, Jr., and Joseph F. Smith.

The old Salt Lake Tabernacle, left, and thatch-roofed bowery, right (ca. 1855).

Temple Square looking south down Main Street (ca. 1873). To the right is the Salt Lake Tabernacle; to the left, the foundation of the Salt Lake Temple.

The Salt Lake Tithing Office and Deseret Store (also known as the Bishopsx Storehouse) on the corner of Main and South Temple streets (ca. 1858) where faithful Mormons donated one-tenth of their goods.

The Salt Lake Endowment House, located on Temple Square and separated from the Salt Lake Tabernacle by a high fence, was built of adobe in 1855 and used for the next thirty-four years to solemnize temple marriages prior to the completion of the Salt Lake Temple.

The south wing of the Utah State House at Fillmore, Millard County, Utah, as it looks today, where the territorial legislature met in 1855-56. The Building was never completed.

William Jenningxs Eagle Emporium, early home of the wholesale headquarters of ZCMI (ca. 1885), on the southwest corner of South Temple and Main streets, was the hub of the communal retail network which evolved into the ZCMI department store chain.

Samuel Brannan (1819-89) was a colorful and ambitious entrepreneur who tried to convince Brigham Young to locate in northern California. Moving to California himself, he made a fortune, mostly in land speculation.

John D. Lee (1812-77), southern Utah colonizer and Indian agent, played an important role in the tragic Mountain Meadows Massacre of 1857. Excommunicated from the LDS church, he was later tried by civil courts and executed.

Chief Washakie (1804?-1900), for sixty years chief of the Shoshone Indians in the Wyoming-Utah-Idaho area, was a friend of Brigham Young, Jim Bridger, and General Albert Johnston.

Chief Kanosh was one of several Indian leaders with whom the Mormons interacted during their early years in the Great Basin.

Harriett Decker Young, wife of Lorenzo Dow Young, was one of three women in the original 1847 party of Utah pioneers.

Eliza R. Snow (1804-87), a plural wife of both Joseph Smith and Brigham Young, was a prolific writer who served as president of the Female Relief Society from 1867 until her death.

John M. Bernhisel (1799-1881), Utahxs territorial representative to Congress during the 1850s, was a skilled diplomat in defending Mormon rights, especially after the public announcement of plural marriage.

Almon W. Babbitt (1813-56), Utahxs first territorial secretary and treasurer, was killed by Indians while returning from a trip to the nationxs capital.

Perry E. Brocchus, a Utah territorial associate justice, opposed plural marriage, wrote a report to superiors in Washington, D.C., critical of the Mormons, and later left the territory with other xrunaway officialsx because of xMormon persecution.x

Thomas L. Kane (1822-83), a friend of Brigham Young, helped to negotiate an end to the Utah War.

James Buchanan (1791-1868), fifteenth president of the United States, decided to send federal troops under Albert S. Johnston to subdue the xrebelliousx Mormons in 1857-58.

Albert Sidney Johnston (1803-62), commander of the 1857 expedition against the Mormons, remained in Utah until the Civil War, when he joined the Confederate Army.

John F. Kinney (1816-1902) served as Utah territorial chief justice from 1854 to 1857 and from 1860 to 1863 when he became Utah's delegate to Congress.

Alfred Cumming (1802-1873) replaced Brigham Young as territorial governor and served from 1857 to 1861.

Colonel Patrick Edward Connor (1820-91) organized the California Volunteers and helped to establish Camp Douglas east of Salt Lake City.

Camp Douglas (later Fort Douglas) housed the California Volunteers fo the U.S. Army during the Civil War.

James Duane Doty (1799-1865) was appointed superintendent of Indian Affairs for Utah in 1861 and territorial governor in 1863 until his death.

William S. Godbe (1833-1902), a successful Salt Lake City businessman, protested Brigham Young's temporal policies, was excommunicated in 1867, and later organized the Church of Zion.